Writer’s Quote Wednesday: Anton Chekhov

 

writers-quote-wednesday

Thanks to Colleen over at Silver Threading for facilitating this weekly community event.


 WQW-AntonChehkov

Image Credit: Gratisography

My own experience is that once a story has been written, one has to cross out the beginning and the end. It is there that we authors do most of our lying.”

Unlike Chekov, I do not believe the beginning and the end of a draft is where we do the most lying.  It is there that we struggle to begin and resist ending where we write the most garbage.  As writers we should always cut the beginning and the end; editing both with the skill and precision of a surgeon.

Particularly with longer pieces of writing, I find that if I cut the first and last paragraphs I can sometimes take a line here and there and use them elsewhere or drop them entirely into my recycle bin.

3 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday: Anton Chekhov

  1. Well done. I agree. I can usually start just fine. It is the end that I stress over. Thanks for sharing that great quote. I love how each and every quote really makes you think about your own writing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment